IFEEDER Board Building Buzz on Research, Education Initiatives

IFEEDER Board of Trustees Class 2023-24.

The Institute for Feed Education and Research (IFEEDER) held its annual Board of Trustees meeting Tuesday to discuss broadening awareness of its resources and initiatives that support the animal food industry, as well as install new Board leadership and trustees.

“The value IFEEDER brings to the industry through its research and education efforts is getting noticed,” said IFEEDER Board Chair Mike Schuster with Laidig Systems. “The buzz is growing, we’re getting better known and our conversations with members are more fruitful. Even if they aren’t engaged in sustainability, they are getting to know IFEEDER a bit better.”

As part of the business meeting, the trustees recognized Schuster for his leadership as Board chair for the 2022-23 IFEEDER fiscal year, which ended April 30, and installed for the 2023-24 fiscal year Mike Gauss of Kent Nutrition Group as the new chair and Paul Phillips of Maxi-Lift Inc./Southwest Agri-Plastics as vice chair. Steve Lerner, Ph.D., of Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition, will chair the IFEEDER Research Committee and Leah Dorman, D.V.M., of Phibro Animal Health Corp., will chair the IFEEDER Education and Engagement Committee.

With the installation of four new trustees (noted with asterisks*), the IFEEDER Board of Trustees now includes: John Akridge*, MFA Incorporated; Partha Bora, Wilbur-Ellis Company; Dorman; Gauss; Courtney Hall*, CHS Inc.; Jamee Krug*, Elanco Animal Health; Lerner; Scott Lovin, AgState; Ashley McDonald, National Pork Board; Phillips; and Juan Tricarico*, Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy. IFEEDER would like to recognize and thank the following outgoing trustees for their service: Gisele Santos-Bin, BASF Corporation; Kevin Halpin, Ph.D., International Ingredient Corporation; Joe Lucas, CJ Bio America, Inc.; John Metzger, Elanco Animal Health; and Mike Schuster of Laidig Systems, Inc.